Of Mice and Men: 30/10/2008

Robert Burns inspired the title:

But Mouse, you are not alone,
In proving foresight may be vain:
The best laid schemes of mice and men
Go often askew,
And leaves us nothing but grief and pain,
For promised joy!

Still you are blest, compared with me!
The present only touches you:
But oh! I backward cast my eye,
On prospects dreary!
And forward, though I cannot see,
I guess and fear!

Our first choice for this term is an adaptation of Steinbeck’s classic (as Ákos put it when he introduced the film), built on a magnificent performance by John Malkovich.

afis-mm3

One thought on “Of Mice and Men: 30/10/2008

  1. George says:

    Here’s a fragment from the novel I wanted to read before the screening but eventually didn’t:

    Crooks said gently, “Maybe you can see now. You got George. You know
    he’s goin’ to come back. S’pose you didn’t have nobody. S’pose you couldn’t
    go into the bunk house and play rummy ‘cause you was black. How’d you like
    that? S’pose you had to sit out here an’ read books. Sure you could play
    horseshoes till it got dark, but then you got to read books. Books ain’t no good.
    A guy needs somebody—to be near him.” He whined, “A guy goes nuts if he
    ain’t got nobody. Don’t make no difference who the guy is, long’s he’s with
    you. I tell ya,” he cried, “I tell ya a guy gets too lonely an’ he gets sick.”
    “George gonna come back,” Lennie reassured himself in a frightened voice.
    “Maybe George come back already. Maybe I better go see.”
    Crooks said, “I didn’t mean to scare you. He’ll come back. I was talkin’
    about myself. A guy sets alone out here at night, maybe readin’ books or
    thinkin’ or stuff like that. Sometimes he gets thinkin’, an’ he got nothing to tell
    him what’s so an’ what ain’t so. Maybe if he sees somethin’, he don’t know
    whether it’s right or not. He can’t turn to some other guy and ast him if he sees
    it too. He can’t tell. He got nothing to measure by. I seen things out here. I
    wasn’t drunk. I don’t know if I was asleep. If some guy was with me, he could
    tell me I was asleep, an’ then it would be all right. But I jus’ don’t know.”
    Crooks was looking across the room now, looking toward the window.

Leave a Reply

