“The Lady Eve” (Comedies of Remarriage movie series)

From Monday, May 4. we will be showing a series of screwball comedies, and read the coresponding chapters in Stanley Cavell’s book “Pursuits of Happiness“, in the following order:

1. “The Lady Eve” – chapter 1 (Monday, May 4th 17.3o)

2. “It Happened One Night” – chapter 2 (TBA)

3. “Bringing Up Baby” – chapter 3 (TBA)

4. “The Philadelphia Story” – chapter 4 (TBA)

5. “His Girl Friday” (TBA)

6. “Adam’s Rib” (TBA)

7. “The Awful Truth” (TBA)

The first movie will be “Lady Eve”, directed by Preston Sturges, and starring Barbara Stanwyck and Henry Fonda, and we are reading the introduction of  Cavell’s book (“Words for a Conversation”), and the first chapter (“Pros and Cons”). The Introduction and the first chapter can be downloaded from here and here, respectively.



Ebert’s review



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s